Sunday, 22 September 2013

Current Events for TNPSC , UPSC Exam - Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL)

Nuclear Power Corporation of India Logo.svgThe Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) is a government-owned corporation of India based in Mumbai. One of the public sector undertakings, it is wholly owned by the Union Government and is responsible for the generation of nuclear power for electricity. NPCIL is administered by the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE). NPCIL is the only power utility company in India which uses nuclear fuel sources.
NPCIL was created in September 1987 as public limited company under the Companies Act 1956, "with the objective of undertaking the design, construction, operation and maintenance of the atomic power stations for generation of electricity in pursuance of the schemes and programmes of the Government of India under the provision of the Atomic Energy Act 1962." All nuclear power plants operated by the company are certified for ISO-14001 (Environment Management System).
NPCIL is the sole body responsible for constructing and operating India's commercial nuclear power plants. As of 10 August 2012 the company had 21 nuclear reactors in operation at seven locations, a total installed capacity of 5780 MWe. Subsequent to the government's decision to allow private companies to provide nuclear power, the company has experienced problems with private enterprises "poaching" its employees.

Nuclear plants
TAPS-1 (Tarapur, Maharashtra)BWR16028 October 1969
TAPS-2 (Tarapur, Maharashtra)BWR16028 October 1969
TAPS-3 (Tarapur, Maharashtra)PHWR54018 August 2006
TAPS-4 (Tarapur, Maharashtra)PHWR54015 September 2005
RAPS-1 (Rawatbhata, Rajasthan)PHWR10016 December 1973
RAPS-2 (Rawatbhata, Rajasthan)PHWR2001 April 1981
RAPS-3 (Rawatbhata, Rajasthan)PHWR2201 June 2000
RAPS-4 (Rawatbhata, Rajasthan)PHWR22023 December 2000
RAPS-5 (Rawatbhata, Rajasthan)PHWR2204 February 2010
RAPS-6 (Rawatbhata, Rajasthan)PHWR22031 March 2010
MAPS-1 (Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu)PHWR22027 January 1984
MAPS-2 (Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu)PHWR22021 March 1986
NAPS-1 (Narora, Uttar Pradesh)PHWR2201 January 1991
NAPS-2 (Narora, Uttar Pradesh)PHWR2201 July 1992
KAPS-1 (Kakrapar, Gujarat)PHWR2206 May 1993
KAPS-2 (Kakrapar, Gujarat)PHWR2201 September 1995
KGS-1 (Kaiga, Karnataka)PHWR2206 November 2000
KGS-2 (Kaiga, Karnataka)PHWR2206 May 2000
KGS-3 (Kaiga, Karnataka)PHWR2206 May 2007
KGS-4 (Kaiga, Karnataka)PHWR22027 November 2010
KNPP-1 (Koodankulam, Tamil Nadu)VVER −1000100010 October 2013
Total Capacity5780

Under construction

Unit Under ConstructionTypeCapacity
Expected Date
KNPP-2 (Koodankulam, Tamil Nadu)VVER −10001000Mar-2014
KAPS-3 (Kakrapar, Gujarat)PHWR700Jun-2015[7]
KAPS-4 (Kakrapar, Gujarat)PHWR700Dec-2015[7]
RAPS-7 (Rawatbhata, Rajasthan)PHWR700Jun-2016[8]
RAPS-8 (Rawatbhata, Rajasthan)PHWR700Dec-2016[8]
Total Capacity3800


Unit proposedTypeCapacity
Expected Date
Jaitapur Nuclear Power Project
European Pressurized Reactor
Total Capacity